Just Be Your Own Idol

 

sophiaquote

I recently finished reading the book #Girlboss by Sophia Amoruso. I definitely developed a new girl crush and found a new source of inspiration for kicking ass at life. There were so many mini-lessons that I took away – from the mantra, money looks better in your back than on your feet to helpful tips on what not to do when writing cover letters.

It made me confront little things that I was doing or thinking that was unnecessary to a healthy and happy mindset. The quote above was probably the most relatable. Sophia Amoruso became as successful as she is now in the least traditional way you would think of, and she maintains her success as well as NastyGal’s, by continuing to push for her uniqueness as a woman.

I don’t think I’m the only one that get’s easily caught up with what others are doing with their lives. It’s so easy nowadays to scroll through Instagram, see what we perceive as ‘perfect lives’ from others’ posts, and feel like you’re missing out on something. The Fear of Missing Out – it’s real. There are times where I’ve stalked lifestyle bloggers, designers, and mutual friends with this sort of obsessive quality, thinking that if I do this or that, I could be a little more like them. Then I think, why am I wasting my time doing this?

When it comes to artists that I’ve admired, I’ve been pretty heavy-handed in taking elements from their work to influence my own. It took me a while to understand  that it’s one thing to be ‘inspired’ by someone and it’s another to straight up copy, thinking that you’re only trying to emulate them. The line is hard to draw when it comes to originality. Imitation is not the highest form of flattery.

I’m still trying to strengthen my own skills and become a person that I’m proud of, but I’m definitely focusing my energy on myself. Nowadays, I spend time looking at other work to get a sense of how they do things or discover new ways of thinking to help develop my own ideas (and I have  a lot of those). There are so many young creatives out there that I find so cool and I admire endlessly. I want to use their careers as motivation to strengthen and empower my own, as well as others.

Leave a Reply

